Musical Art

In recent years, music has gone bigger and better with artists making each of their songs better than their last. From alternative rock to EDM to rap and into many other genres. Among these, dubstep and pop appeals to me the best. Dubstep artists like Deadmau5, Nero, Skrillex, and Arion from YouTube are people I listen to when I do something like workouts or anything with sports. Pop artists however, like Justin Timberlake, Katy Perry, and Pitbull, are what I listen to when I have some leisure time. Sometimes, I listen to to Trey Songz, Lil John, and Young Money, for when I’m in school and walking to class. But dubstep and pop are my favorites.

This beautiful innovative genre, dubstep, was created by some guy from South London, England. No one knows exactly who or when, but it was the 90s and in 2011 Skrillex made the Amercanised version of dubstep: brostep. When I discovered Skrillex from Pandora, I instantly fell in love with it and I was searching more of this “dubstep” on YouTube. What I listened to was “Kill Everybody” from Skrillex. The title didn’t look pretty, but the song was absolutely lovely! The style and the bass made me stick to it permanently. During that time, it was 2012 and it looked liked it was mainly mainstream in pop culture. Two years later, I’ve expanded my dubstep loving to the different to specific types like trap, post-dubstep, and future garage.

In Orlando, there’s a popular radio show called XL 106.7. It was the most listened to station in Orlando because of how well they’ve expanded. From North Carolina to Spain to South Korea and even countries like Uganda and Gibraltar! Anyways, I listen to it day and night, literally. When I’m sleeping, it’s playing in the background. Even when I wake up, 106.7 is my alarm! No joke. XL is mainly a pop station. Playing Pitbull, Coldplay, Pink, and the new Taylor Swift. The year I discovered this was 2009. The first song I remember they were playing was “Rude Boy” from Rihanna. I liked it than the songs I’ve been listening to. The beat and the lyrics to the song was getting to me. Five years later, it’s one that has grown on me. Now I listen to Avicii, Katy Parry, Phillip Phillips and a ton more!

Leave a comment